Basics You Need to Know about Gluten Free Diet?

The “Gluten Free Diet” is special diet that excludes the protein called gluten (specially manufactured to exclude gluten), which is most commonly found in cereals such as wheat, rye, barley etc.

Why you (or anyone) need Gluten Free Diet?

The answer to this question is that, this Gluten Free Diet is the treatment of a gastrointestinal disease called “celiac disease”. Patients with celiac disease suffer from inflammation of small intestine if they consume diet containing gluten, which is commonly found in most of our staple diets and that is the reason a patient with celiac disease, need a diet which is free fro gluten, as in absence of gluten, Gluten Free Diet can not (and will not) produce inflammation of small intestine the root cause of “celiac disease”. By consuming Gluten Free Diet (instead of normal staple diet such as wheat, rye etc.) a patient with “celiac disease” can control the signs and symptoms of the disease and also be able to prevent the complications associated with celiac disease.

If you are suffering from “celiac disease” it may be frustrating, especially at the beginning of treatment with Gluten Free Diet, as you will find most of the foods you generally eat, including your main staple cereal, contain gluten in it. But with sincerity and perseverance you will be able to adjust and you will be able to learn there are many food items that do not contain gluten and you can enjoy them fully. Patients of celiac disease need to learn to change their lifestyle, especially likings of food items, to remain symptom free as long as possible.

Some of the food items/cereals which contain gluten in it are given below:

  • Wheat, burley, rye.
  • Matzo meal, Farina, Durham.
  • Kamut, Graham flour, Bulgur.

You should avoid the following foods, unless labeled “Gluten Free”:

  • Beer, bread, candy,
  • Cereals, oats, gravies,
  • Cakes, cookies, crackers.
  • Pastas, sea food, sauce, soups.

You can eat the following food items, as they are free from gluten:

  • Rice, tapioca, corn, corn meal.
  • Gluten free flour, pure corn tortillas.
  • Amaranth, arrowroot.



Related Articles

Leave a Comment

Loading...